Home » Tech » Does Tumblr delete inactive accounts?

Does Tumblr delete inactive accounts?

Best Answer:
  1. That’s right, Tumblr occasionally releases inactive usernames. If you’re on the verge of forgetting your account, be sure to log in every now and then.

Tumblr does not delete inactive accounts, but the team does review accounts that have been without activity for a while. So if you’re planning on stopping your blog entirely and deleting it from there, be sure to notify Tumblr first! Tumbler accepts account closures by emailing [email protected] with a reason/explanation of why you are closing your account. They will ask for clarification before accepting closure requests. If an account is closed, all posts created by this user will no longer be available via their username or link to other blogs they followed in the dashboard interface (unless those blogs reblogged them). There’s also no option for users who want to transfer ownership of abandoned accounts–they can’t just be given away, but they can be recommended to a friend.

So if you’re planning on stopping your blog entirely and deleting it from there, be sure to notify Tumblr first! Tumbler accepts account closures by emailing [email protected] with a reason/explanation of why you are closing your account. They will ask for clarification before accepting closure requests. If an account is closed, all posts created by this user will no longer be available via their username or link to other blogs they followed in the dashboard interface (unless those blogs reblogged them). There’s also no option for users who want to transfer ownership of abandoned accounts–they can’t just be given away, but they can be recommended.

FAQ:

Do Tumblr accounts expire?

Occasionally, Tumblr will release usernames that have not been active for more than 24 months. They will send an email warning inactive users that they need to reactivate their account and log back in if only to maintain ownership of the URL/username

Does Tumblr delete old accounts?

Your username might be automatically deleted if you haven’t logged into Tumblr in over two years.

How do I know if my Tumblr is deactivated?

If your Tumblr account has been shut down, you won’t be able to access your blog using your Tumblr URL. When you log in, you may receive a message that your account has been suspended and may also receive an email as to the cause of the suspension letting you know what happened and how it can be fixed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.