- Use the new phone number to reset your password, and then delete the account from GroupMe’s system.
You can remove your phone number by going to settings and removing the checkmark next to “My Contact Info”. If you have added any other people, they will still be able to see your GroupMe profile. You can also make a new group chat with a new name for yourself.
How do I delete my account?
Go here for more information on how to cancel your account. You may contact tech support or email us directly at [email protected] if you need additional help! Please note that once you cancel your account, it cannot be reinstated under the same username. We recommend making sure all of your files are backed up before canceling the account so that no data is lost in the process.
GroupMe never shares personal information with other members. Other group members can only see your avatar and name when you’re in the same chat; your phone number and email address are protected at all times.
If you can’t find what you’re looking for, please search our Knowledge Base.
Tap the avatar for your chat in order to activate it. Once activated, scroll down and find the Manage Group option. Tap this, then select Edit Group from the page that pops up.